Welcome to the website of David Berger, jazz composer and arranger.

David Berger is recognized internationally as a leading authority on the music of Duke Ellington and the Swing Era. Conductor and arranger for the Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra from its inception in 1988 through 1994, Berger has transcribed more than 750 full scores of classic recordings including more than 500 works by Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn.  Berger has composed and arranged more than 1000 pieces over a career spanning 50 years.  The David Berger Jazz Orchestra has performed all over the U.S. and Europe, as well as on TV and in movies.

You can download David's newest release, "Old Is New," HERE.


Fancy Footwork: The Art of the Saxophone Soli

Fancy Footwork: The Art of the Saxophone Soli

In cart Not available Out of stock

Fancy Footwork: The Art of the Saxophone Soli is a new eBook featuring scores and parts for 18 saxophone solis from the David Berger Jazz Orchestra library. Perfect for jazz educators looking to strengthen their sax sections and a wonderful practice tool for any saxophonist!

**New** Such Sweet Thunder Music

Sst logo logo size

-- Find arrangements, books, and recordings on our new website. -- www.suchsweetthundermusic.com

Selections from Hindustan (2006)

Shop for more music on the RECORDINGS page.  

Get David's original charts on the ARRANGEMENTS page.  

Return to form

Join our mailing list for the latest news

Previous events

All materials Copyright © 2015 Such Sweet Thunder, Inc.